Send to
Using the action “Send to” you can assign a workbox (workflow task) to a selected product. To do so, proceed as follows:
- In the respective table, tick the product you want to assign a workbox to.
- Click on the
button in the footer to access the action menu. - Move the mouse cursor over the option “Workflow” to show the corresponding submenu.
- Click on the option “Send to” to call up the corresponding dialog box.
- Tick the workbox you want to assign.
Possibly use the text search to filter the list of available workboxes by a search term. - Possibly enter a message* in the input field “Comment”. For this particular wordbox, the message is shown on the dashboard of the “Product details” app. It can be called up via the
button. - Possibly set a deadline:
- Click on the
button in the “Deadline” field to show the datepicker menu. - Click on the desired date to select it. Following this, the datepicker menu closes.
- Click on the

- In order to finish the process, click on the button.
A success message is shown. - In order to cancel the process, click on the button.
- The action “Send to” can also be applied to multiple products or workboxes at once.
- For the respective product, the message is written on the attribute “Text (IPIM_TASKS_TEXT)”.
Reject task
Using the action “Reject task” you can reject a workflow task in order to reset the respective workflow to the previous step. To do so, proceed as follows:
- In the respective table, tick the product for which you want to reject a workflow task.
- Click on the
button in the footer to access the action menu. - Move the mouse cursor over the option “Workflow” to show the corresponding submenu.
- Click on the option “Reject task” to call up the corresponding dialog box.
- Select the respective workflow task from the “Workflow” menu. Following this, a list of the respective workflow tasks is shown below the menu.
- Tick the workflow task you want to reject. You can also tick multiple workflow tasks.
- Possibly enter a message* in the text field “Comment”.
- In order to finish the process, click on the button.
A success message is shown. - In order to cancel the process, click on the button.
Finish task
Using the action “Finish task” you can mark a workflow task as finished. To do so, proceed as follows:
- In the respective table, tick the product for which you want to finish a workflow task.
- Click on the
button in the footer to access the action menu. - Move the mouse cursor over the option “Workflow” to show the corresponding submenu.
- Click on the option “Finish task” to call up the corresponding dialog box.
- Tick the workflow task you want to mark as finished.
- In order to finish the process, click on the button.
A success message is shown. The finished workflow task has now vanished from the list of open workflow tasks. And if the workflow task is part of a defined workflow, the appropriate status traffic light changes its color accordingly. - In order to cancel the process, click on the button.

- First introduced in version 5.3.4: Possibly activate the toggle switch “Group common tasks” to finish tasks for multiple products grouped by tasks.
- The message for a workbox task that is possibly shown in the “Message” column, is maintained in the workflow, namely on the connection to this workflow task.
FAQ
What is a workbox?
A workbox is a workflow task that can be assigned to a product. Using the action “Send to” you can assign such a workbox to a selected product.
How do I assign a workbox to a product?
In the respective table, tick the product, click on the button in the footer to access the action menu, move the mouse cursor over the option “Workflow” and click on “Send to”. In the dialog box that opens, tick the desired workbox and finish the process by clicking on the button.
What happens when I reject a workflow task?
The respective workflow is reset to the previous step, and the selected workflow task is reopened afterwards.
What happens when I finish a workflow task?
The finished workbox task vanishes from the list of open tasks. If the task is part of a defined workflow, the appropriate status traffic light also changes its color accordingly.
Where is the message stored that is entered when rejecting or assigning a task?
The message is written on the attribute “Text (IPIM_TASKS_TEXT)” for the respective product.
Can I finish tasks for multiple products in a grouped way?
First introduced in version 5.3.4, you can possibly activate the toggle switch “Group common tasks” to finish tasks for multiple products grouped by tasks.
Why can’t I enter a workflow directly using the “Send to” action?
The “Send to” action is designed to send products to particular workboxes, even if these are also part of a workflow. However, it is not possible to enter a workflow this way, since the action is only intended for directly assigning a workbox.
How can I see workbox tasks that aren’t assigned to me in the “Send to” dialog box?
Since version 5.4.1 there is a supplemental right with the key “ipim-portal.actions.send-to”, which users need to see workbox tasks that aren’t assigned to them via a workbox role in the dialog box of the “Send to” action.
Rights
Apart from the basic rights listed here, a user needs the rights that are shown in the table.
| Key | Identifier | Description |
| ipim.apps.toolbox.actions | iPIM Apps – Actions | General right that is required to use actions from the action menu |
| ipim-core.api.actions.send-to | REST – Action – Send to | Right to use the “Send to” action |
| ipim-portal.actions.send-to | IPIM Portal – Actions – Send to | Seit 5.4.1: Supplemental right that users need to see workbox tasks that aren’t assigned to them via a workbox role in the dialog box of the “Send to” action. |
| ipim-core.api.actions.reject-task | REST – Action – Reject task | Right to use the “Reject task” action |
| ipim-core.api.actions.finish-task | REST – Action – Finish task | Right to use the “Finish task” action. The right is also required to finish tasks in the dashboard of the “Product details” app. |